North Carolina Controlled Substances Act

Under the N.C. Controlled Substances Act, a “controlled substance” means a drug, substance, or immediate precursor included in Schedules I through VI of this Article. There are six different types, or schedules of drugs/controlled substances. If convicted, each different schedule of drug carries a different penalty for consumption and/or possession. These schedules are made up of drugs or controlled substances, specifically based on certain characteristics: (1) potential for abuse, (2) evidence of pharmacological effect, (3) history and pattern of abuse, (4) risk to public health, and (5) if it’s a precursor to another controlled substance.

Some of the most common controlled substances within each schedule are as follows:

Schedule I Controlled Substance:(full list here)

  • opiates (morphine)
  • hallucinogenics (MMDA or MDMA)
  • mescaline (“peyote”)
  • LSD (acid)
  • psilocybin (“shrooms”)

Schedule II Controlled Substance:(full list here)

  • opium
  • cocaine
  • oxycodone
  • fentanyl
  • amphetamine
  • methamphetamine

Schedule III Controlled Substance:(full list here)

  • barbiturates
  • ketamine
  • codeine
  • testosterone

Schedule IV Controlled Substance:(full list here)

  • depressants (Xanax)
  • stimulants (Cathine or “khat”)

Schedule V Controlled Substance:(full list here)

  • codeine (in lesser concentrations)
  • **These may be sold in retail stores to people over 18 years of age or older.

Schedule VI Controlled Substance:(full list here)

  • marijuana
  • synthetic cannabinoids

If you have been charged with a drug offense or have questions about your rights, drug crime lawyer Chris Dozier is ready to help. Contact Dozier Law Firm, PLLC to learn more.