Charged with Impaired Driving in Wake County? Five Things You Need to Know Now
1) If you have been charged with an alcohol related impaired driving (DWI / DUI) offense in North Carolina then normally your driver’s license is suspended for 30 days from the date of your breath test. You are eligible for a limited driving privilege (LDP) on the 11th day of your pretrial suspension and you can get your driver’s license back on the 31st day. Learn more about how to get a pre-trial LDP.
2) A first (1st) offense DWI can carry up to 60 days in jail and require a minimum of either 24 hours in jail or community service and a 12-month suspension of your driver’s license if you are convicted. If you have a prior DWI conviction within seven years of your new offense then you could face up to 24 to 36 months in jail with mandatory minimum jail time. Both a 1st time offender and an offender with multiple prior convictions could face a suspension of their active sentence while the offender is placed on either unsupervised or supervised probation. Learn more about DWI sentencing in North Carolina.
3) There are many pretrial issues that an experienced DWI Defense Attorney can evaluate in your case to suppress evidence and/or result in a dismissal of your case. These issues include, among others: reason for the stop, facts supporting the arrest, proper administration of a blood or breath test and conditions surrounding your bond. Learn more about pretrial issues that may be applicable to your case.
4) If you refuse to submit to a breath test after your arrest (i.e.- the Intoxilyzer test at the jail) then your driver’s license can be suspended by D.M.V. for up to 12 months. It is important that you watch your mail for your revocation letter from D.M.V. so that your DWI Attorney can petition for a hearing on the refusal. This may keep your license active while waiting for a hearing as well as may end in a dismissal of the refusal suspension. Learn more about breath test refusals and D.M.V. driver’s license suspensions and breath tests in Wake County.
5) Find a Trial Attorney to defend your case. It is important to hire an attorney with actual courtroom experience before Judges and Juries who will actually defend your case at a trial. This may be one of the biggest things you will ever have to deal with in your life and it is important to hire an attorney that fully understands impaired driving offenses in North Carolina and has the knowledge of the court system that your case deserves. Learn more about the DWI Courtroom Experience of Wake County DWI Attorney Chris Dozier or contact Dozier Law Firm, PLLC today for a free consultation.